Way too often I go off on mental adventures to “find myself.” I come up with all kinds of schemes and plans to assist in my pursuit and I end up reading, meditating, doing yoga, and keeping track of all the things I learn about Me that make me Me. With as many times as I’ve set out to find this elusive Me I’m referring to, one would think I would have come up with quite a lot of explanation at this point. One would be wrong. I’ve never known less, and that’s because when you set out to search for something that’s right in front of your face, you just end up getting lost. You end up sprinting down roads leading nowhere and spending a lot of time searching for something you will not find. Even worse! Since you’re so focused on finding this unfindable thing, you can’t even enjoy the run for the run’s sake. Details of the journey are lost with your efforts and you end up back where you began only to have one of these, “You’ve GOT to be kidding me!” moments. Now, after my ridiculous pursuit, I realize I’ve spent all this time searching for something that never needed to be found. “Me” is right here, right now, all the time.

Way too often I go off on mental adventures to “find myself.” I come up with all kinds of schemes and plans to assist in my pursuit and I end up reading, meditating, doing yoga, and keeping track of all the things I learn about Me that make me Me. With as many times as I’ve set out to find this elusive Me I’m referring to, one would think I would have come up with quite a lot of explanation at this point. One would be wrong.

I’ve never known less, and that’s because when you set out to search for something that’s right in front of your face, you just end up getting lost. You end up sprinting down roads leading nowhere and spending a lot of time searching for something you will not find. Even worse! Since you’re so focused on finding this unfindable thing, you can’t even enjoy the run for the run’s sake. Details of the journey are lost with your efforts and you end up back where you began only to have one of these, “You’ve GOT to be kidding me!” moments. Now, after my ridiculous pursuit, I realize I’ve spent all this time searching for something that never needed to be found. “Me” is right here, right now, all the time.

“The bad news: There’s no key to the universe. The good news: It was never locked.” Swami Beyondanandia.

Leave a Reply

