Vision Boards > Resolutions

Why hello there!

I can’t believe 2011 is already about to end! I’m not generally a New Years Resolution kind of person, but I definitely am an arts and crafts person (Will there be glitter in this post? Please tell me there will be glitter!)! So instead of trying to ring in the new year with a laundry list of impulse goals for 2012, I thought I’d try a vision board instead. I like this idea better than a resolution, because instead of giving ourselves a ginormous build-up during which we make grandiose promises to do x-y-z and end up falling flat once the confetti settles, this board looks at you every day as a gentle reminder of all the things you truly desire for yourself.

So what’s my “goal” for 2012? To look at my little creation every day, to remain sensitive to potential opportunities as they come, and to continue to let inspiration follow me so I can keep on rockin’ my classes, my book, and my career like a good little drone, errr, I mean a productive adult citizen. (Damn you auto correct!)

My board is still a work in progress (and I’m sorry, but I blurred out some of the text!):

You still get the idea :-]

While this is cute and all, visions still require you to put in the work (I know, booo!). You can’t just “envision” something and then go eat a sandwich (double boo!). I think since books like The Secret became popular and Oprah started talking about things like visualization and the law of attraction, etc. (although we all know how much I love Oprah… and The Secret), popular interpretation of that stuff says that if we just want something it’ll happen. And sometimes it does, but most of the time it requires your effort.

All that to say, I like this idea! For me, it’ll serve as a constant reminder of all the things I’m looking to gain this year, and to take steps every day that will get me closer to that end.

Vision boards > Resolutions, Corniness > Everything! :-]

Cheers to a great year! [And to a very celebratory bowl of scrambled eggs and a spoon full  of homemade marinara – it’s delicious! More on that sweet bowl & its contents tomorrow. I’m coming back with a vengeance and a list of things I just died over this year.]

4 thoughts on “Vision Boards > Resolutions

  1. What a great, inspirational post! I love it! And that BOWL!!! I wanted them, on that darn site that has become a bit of an obsession, but I didnt buy them. Another slight obsession, your blog. It is lovely, like you.

Leave a Reply

