Snack for the week!

I remember thinking kale chips were a good idea when I went to Whole Foods and bought these:
Source
… and they were really bad. Like, bad. Not crunchy, but stale tasting. No bueno.

Either way I wanted to try my hand at making them and they came out amazing! You know by now that I’m not one for eating substitutes for real food. So if I want chips I’ll just eat a small handfull, not some poor interpretation of the real thing. 😉 So I’m not calling these “kale chips,” but Kale Krisps instead. They have the texture of the lightest Lays potato chip you’ve ever had but are wayyy healthier and much more savory. Adrien and I ate almost two entire cookie sheets full of these!
Kale Krisps:
What you need:

1 (or 2 if you’re greedy ;-)) large bunch of curly kale. At the grocery store, make sure to pick the curly kind! The flat kind goes by lacinato or dinosaur kale and won’t come out as light and crispy.
1 T dried onion
1/2 t each of salt and pepper
enough olive oil to drizzle over

Recipe:
Preheat oven to 350*. Remove the kale from its ribs into bite size pieces. Place on a baking sheet. Drizzle with oil (lightly! if you over-do it they won’t “crisp”… they’ll still be delicious but soft) and sprinkle with S&P and onion to taste. Bake at 350* for 10-15 mins and eat ravenously! 🙂

Let me know if you try them! Would you do anything differently?

Goodnight! Peace & Love & Kale! 😉 

3 thoughts on “Snack for the week!

  1. Pingback: Burgundy Bombshell Smoothie | Erin Motz

Leave a Reply

