Cake in this B!

I don’t need much of an excuse to eat chocolate, but it was my Dad’s birthday, so I had even more of a reason to bake something extreme.

Enter German Chocolate Cake!
I made this baby from scratch and although it took about 5 hours with prep and baking and assembly… it was well worth the effort. It was like, black out good.

Coconut and toasted pecans and dark chocolate… can’t really mess that combo up.
I used this recipe by David Lebovitz. He also wrote one of the most enjoyable books I read last year, The Sweet Life in Paris. Seriously, if you’re looking for a good read that’s light and fun, I’d highly recommend this one. I love stories of gutsy, somewhat impulsive people who move to Europe 😉 and if you’ve ever been to France or plan on going, you’ll have an even greater appreciation of this book. It’s extremely funny and made me feel like I was living in a cozy Parisian apartment sitting catty-corner to a quaint boulangerie. Heaven.

After we awoke from our food coma we prepped for the week. Knowing it was almost Monday, this pretty much sums up my sentiment:

********************************************
Discuss! What are your thoughts on meditation? Yoga teacher status aside, I think the benefits are crazy awesome, but I sadly fall into the category of people who find no time to take 15 minutes for silence on a daily basis. Then I read this article and it really got me thinking… what would change if I made it a habit, even for 30 days? Can you see yourself doing this? Have you ever made a small change and it yielded huge results?

Meditation for 30 days: before & after. Read the article here!

Leave a Reply

