Everybody Loves a Good List!

I might prefer sitting in a tub of ice, getting a root canal, or being waterboarded before walking around in Tory Burch flats for an entire day. They’re SO uncomfortable! The leather is stiff and the back digs into my heel.

For serious. That’s one of the more regrettable $200 decisions I’ve made. Adrien freaked out when I bought them last year…
… and not even because they’re so beautiful.

I wear them often just out of guilt because they cost so much, but they are THE most uncomfortable shoes on earth. They hurt every part of my foot, and I much prefer other pairs that cost 1/3 of that price.

But a better side of this story is that there are plenty of things I would buy a million times over if I needed to:

1. My food processor! I have a classic (and by “classic” I mean “old”) Cuisinart and I use this thing constantly. I make sauces, soups, purees, and even smoothies when my blender is on the fritz. Fun fact: I used to have a magic bullet for about 5 minutes but word to the wise… that thing is a piece of garbage. Returned. 

2. The manduka black mat pro. If you do yoga regularly, I cannot recommend this mat highly enough. I’ve had it for a solid 5 years and it still looks brand new. It withstands 100*+ heat: I teach/do hot power yoga for 75 minutes on a regular basis, I leave it in the car during the summer, and I use it outside. It’s made with 100% recycled and nontoxic materials and there’s a lifetime warranty on it, so if it ever starts disintegrating like most cheaper ones do, you can return it and get your money back. It doesn’t slide around or bunch up beneath you, it’s sticky enough so your hands/feet don’t slip, it’s padded without being squishy (I never feel my hips or knees digging into the floor) and it lasts forever. And that’s my love story to Manduka.

3. Nike Free Runners. And now they’re on sale. Of course! But these are awesome for running, walking, cross-training, dog walking, kid wrangling, and require no breaking in. Good enough for me!

Those are just the first few things that jump to the top of my list of things I would buy over and over… Sorry, Tory! You can get the heck outta here!

4 thoughts on “Everybody Loves a Good List!

  1. Pingback: Dinner Flop | Erin Motz

  2. Hi Erin,
    I came across your blog and have really been enjoying it. Anyhoo I have a quick question for you. Im looking to buy my first Manduka mat…..and I cant decide whether I should get the Black mat PRO or the PROlite……Thoughts?
    Daisy (Australia)

    • That’s awesome – I’m glad to see you stopped by 🙂

      And I think either mat is a good choice, to be honest. The only downside to the Pro is its weight – it weighs about 10lbs, so if you’re commuting in a city environment where you’re walking/biking to class, it might not be very convenient. They’re both exceptional in terms of quality and have enough padding to protect your joints on a hard floor. Bottom line: the deciding factor for me was I liked the heaviness of the pro, and since I drive everywhere, the heaviness wasn’t a big deal 🙂 But the ProLite will save you a few bucks and lighten your yoga bag if you have to walk though…

Leave a Reply

