The other kind of truffle

With every snobby, proud cockle of my arrogant heart, I want to love truffles. No, not this kind (but holy YUM!):
I’m talking about this kind:
It’s a mushroom that looks suspiciously like a moon rock. What’s not to love, right?

I haven’t figured out why, but there’s something I absolutely love about the art and skill that goes in to finding, selling, preparing, and cooking with these. Apparently they’re impossible to harvest artificially. In other words, investors have tried to import the soil from France and the oak trees truffles are said to grow around. They’ve tried to replicate the environment and climate down to the most intricate detail to try to bring this process around the world and have failed miserably, yielding nothing. All sounds very impressive and something my snobbishness wants badly to be a part of!

Now, onto what I do NOT love: the taste. And the smell. I wish I felt differently because I feel like I’m missing out on something amazing like a great wine or a sharp, tangy cheese.

I suppose I’m not, but one thing I’m unapologetically very “into” is a good bolognese, which is exactly what was for dinner tonight.
What you need:
1 lb ground lean turkey
3 cups marinara
1/2 t oregano
1 t basil
1/2 t salt
1 T black pepper
1 T garlic
two hefty splashes of dry white wine
two turns of olive oil around a large pan

Heat the pan over medium heat until hot. Add the turkey and brown for about a minute. Add all other ingredients and continue to break apart the meat and mix everything around to combine. Cook for about 15 minutes, then simmer for about 25 minutes on low heat.

Serve over your favorite pasta or eat by the spoonful right off the stovetop, like we did. 🙂

Now we’re off to watch one of our all-time favorite movies… A Good Year!

Leave a Reply

