You’ve gotta want it

Here, peel this!
Lets back up. I came home from work to my guy getting settled on the couch to watch Ghost Rider. Yes, I’m serious. I got about 7 minutes in before my brain almost melted of boredom and shame at how BAD that movie was. So then I remembered I could vacuum the upstairs, fold laundry, watch grass grow, or catch up on my cooking since I had celery root that’d I’d been meaning to make. Tough decision!

And I took to the kitchen to try my hand at cooking the ugliest veggie ever. But I learned it’s only ugly on the outside, I promise. 😉

But where to begin with that thing, right?! This part was tedious, for real. I took a paring knife to it and carved all the rough parts away until I had 3 pounds of this!
Still not appetizing. BUT the following celery root puree definitely was (via the Food Network pic because by the time it finished cooking the lighting was no bueno):
Now don’t you just want to pile some kind of smoked meat right in the middle of that?! The answer is, “Enthusiastically, YES!”

The recipe I used:
3lbs celery root, peeled and chopped in to quarters/halves
1/4 – 1/3 cup heavy cream, depending how thick/thin you want the consistency (I like mine thick and smooth like a mashed potato!)
Salt & black pepper to taste

Peel & chop celery root. Dunk into salted water at a rumbling boil and cook for about 30 minutes or until a fork goes right through them. Drain. Combine all ingredients in a food processor/blender and blend for 5 minutes or until extra smooth.

Serve under salmon, steak, pork loin, or veggies. You won’t regret it! Some people also cut  this with pureed waxy potatoes, parsnips, carrots, etc. Personally, I think the flavor is so light I like it by itself, but you make the call!

And a little bonus for you because there’s not enough color here or enough hilarity:
Aww, presh.

Leave a Reply

