Sunny Saturday

Everyone has gifts. Mine lie in teaching yoga, cooking, and a handfull of other things that I’m sure exist but cannot call to mind (but let me remember not to list “memorization” as one of these). One thing I’ve not been blessed with is a green thumb. Oh sure, I can keep after some plants here and there when all they need is water, but when it comes to nurturing anything from the ground up, I’m kind of a disaster.

Case in point: The Rosemary Project
Picking up a little plant at Publix doesn’t even qualify as a “project,” which is just confirmation of how sad this is! Are you seeing the brownish gray roots? Signs of early aging for a little rosemary plant only a few weeks old. I’ve watered it, loved it, made sure it’s always in sunlight (the last one I had I actually left outside in the sun and it shriveled and burned, crispy and well done in a matter of hours from the hot hot sun – lesson learned!). I’ve snipped its leaves and and googled ways to keep it fresh. Fail.

Any tips?! It’s still green so there’s time! ๐Ÿ˜‰

But I’m so glad it’s Saturday! I love drinking my coffee out of porcelain instead of a paper cup with a plastic lid.
ย Breakfast was also oatmeal, watermelon and a little raspberry-peach Vitamix juice creation.ย Banana Cocoa Oats:
2/3 c oats
drizzle of honey
1 scoop of fave protein powder
1 T nut butter
1/2 banana, sliced
sprinkle of favorite cereal (I used Three Sisters Cocoa Snapz!)

Bring some water to a boil. In a bowl, put oats and honey and fill with water to desired consistency (I also thinned mine out with milk at the end). Stir in nut butter, protein powder, and sliced banana. Garnish with cereal. Yum.

Oh! And can you tell I broke out the SLR?! It’s been a while but still works like a charm. Also, I wish I could use it better. Any ideas where I can find good tips on taking better pictures? Or do you have any of your own you want to share? Pretty please with Cocoa Snapz on top? ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a wonderful Saturday! Adrien says a surprise outing awaits me today. Fun! ย ๐Ÿ˜€

2 thoughts on “Sunny Saturday

  1. Im certainly no expert, but I’m thinking a bigger pot might help your rosemary. And make sure there are holes in the bottom so excess water can drain. (I once drowned a plant without them) Not sure if this will help, but its all my non-green thumb could think of ๐Ÿ˜‰ We just planted a rosemary bush in the back yard, which I’m pretty excited about! I’m hoping to get rosemary scented breezes when the wind blows ๐Ÿ™‚
    Good luck!!
    PS: that breakfast looks yummy!

    • A. Bigger. POT! Of course! Can you believe I didn’t do that yet? Great idea with the scented breezes ๐Ÿ˜‰ We have a big pot of mint and every time we water it or it rains, it fills the back of the house with the smell of mint.

Leave a Reply

