Yoga for the SI joint and happy hips!

This is more just a series of poses/stretches that you can use to relieve tension in your lower back and hips, not as much of a full-on Flow.

There were plenty of outtakes for this little photoshoot:
Screaming in A’s face while he tries to take my picture…
Why does this hair always look like it needs to be brushed? It’s the law of Erin. And again with the yelling!

But enough with that child’s play, right?! πŸ™‚ The pics here are just kind of… ehh. So when I do the MindBodyGreen version, there will be some better illustrations. In the meantime, let’s do this! Keep in the mind that for each stretch you’ll want to try to hold for about a minute. Here we go!

Pigeon. Keep in mind you’ll want to repeat on both sides, but start in Down Dog and…

– Bring your right knee through to meet your hands. So your front knee is slightly bent and the foot is flexed.
– Ideally your hips are square, facing in front of you.
Β Bound Angle. Well, this one ended up being a semi-outtake, but the focus here is my legs!
– Soles of feet together, knees dropping towards the floor, and pelvis tilting forward. You should feel a deep stretch through the hip flexors and hamstrings. If you’re extra tight, you’ll even feel a gentle pull down the lower back into the glutes.
– Be sure to sit up tall so the shoulders stack over the hips.Half Happy Baby. Usually this is NOT a good thing, but in for our purposes, it’s glorious! πŸ˜‰– Reach for the sole of one foot and bend the knee so it comes up right beneath your armpit, and it should settle right next to the ribs. The opposite leg does NOT have to be straight – you can keep the knee bent with the foot on the floor to take off some of the intensity.

Cat. Normally you’d do this as a cat/cow sequence and you absolutely still can. But, since the “cow” version flexes the back muscles and the “cat” part stretches, I figured to only show you this one.

– Line hips over knees and shoulders over wrists
– Squeeze naval to spine and press palms firmly to the ground
– Round out upper back to you arch like a sassy kitty πŸ˜‰ (Yes, I just said that!)

*This one also takes the strain out of the lumbar spine by drawing the tailbone down longer, so you’ll feel a great release there, too
Forward Fold. Simple enough, but really puts space between the vertebrae to strrrretch ’em out and lengthen all the muscles of the trunk.

– Bend the knees enough so you can rest the chest on the thighs
– Let the arms hang heavy but keep drawing the shoulders away from the ears (this is important because it keeps the neck long, so the spine runs straight and lax from the tail to the base of the neck. Otherwise you’ll end up letting the shoulders slump forward which compresses the neck.)

Β Enjoy!!!
20 thoughts on “Yoga for the SI joint and happy hips!

  1. First of all, your eyes are gorgeous!

    Second, thanks for the yoga info! I might start trying yoga more often because I have a shoulder injury that’s making it impossible to do any upper body strength training.

    • Thank you so much!

      And shoulders should be another “focus on” post… I have a bum shoulder that I blame on carrying a too-heavy purse/laptop bag around campus for so many years. I’ll see what I can come up with! πŸ˜‰

  2. I did these last night and I almost immediately felt relief in my left hip, which has been bothering me this pregnancy, thank you!! I’m going to try to do these three times a week. You are SO cute, love the laughing pics πŸ™‚

    • That makes me so happy that they made you feel better! For whatever weird reason, I have this crazy interest in pregnancy (even though I’ve never been pregnant) and was thinking of doing another hips post specifically for pregnancy. It just seems like it’d be so needed!

      • Erin, that would be really helpful!! I know a lot of my friends who are pregnant have problems with their hips, and I did with both of my pregnancies.

  3. Love all the poses and you hair and smile, yes your smile is intoxicating πŸ™‚ it made me smile too! πŸ™‚

  4. are you yoga certified? I love yoga and want to start teaching at some point and i know yoga certifications arent required but do they help?

    • Hi Rachel! I was certified a while ago but truthfully have learned more from my own work/study than I did through any certification. I think a great place to start is YOUR personal practice – go to classes, little workshops here and there, read articles, & borrow things from teachers you like.

      I’d say they do help at a point. Some studios require specific certs, so just ask around πŸ™‚ You never know until you try. Just keep at your practice and follow your gut – you’ll end up where you want to be.

      • Thank you for the advice! I have started teaching little classes here and there and do my practice at home but i wanted to make sure i wasnt going against any “yoga code” if i get more serious about teaching πŸ™‚ thank you for the help! I love your blog btw!

      • Forget any “yoga code” if you hear it πŸ˜‰ The only “code” is to give your classes a safe + fun experience. That simple! And I really appreciate the luv – makes my day to hear that! πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Shoulda Read the Label! | Erin Motz

  6. I want to be yogalicious like you!! Seriously.
    I’ve always wanted to try yoga but am so intimidated. What if everyone else is like, way more experienced than I? What if I get too hot and faint? What if I don’t have a mat and bring a beach towel? What if this is the FIRST TIME my yoga pants have officially been to a yoga class? Gah!!

    • You’re hilarious! Okay – there’s always a beginner and everyone (even the most experienced) was a beginner at some point. I doubt you’ll faint – stay away from hot or bikram classes until you get comfortable. Almost every studio I’ve ever been to/heard of will let you borrow a yoga mat. Usually they’re free, sometimes you rent it for $1. And listen – most of my yoga pants see more of my couch than a studio. True story, and I’m a teacher. Don’t sweat it πŸ˜‰

      • Hahahah thanks Erin! I really need something to get back into shape and I think yoga is good–hard work, but nothing I can’t handle (as opposed to actual running and super crazy cardio, like kick boxing or something). Thanks for your tips!!

  7. Pingback: Pregnancy Update – 35 weeks « My Healthy 'Ohana

Leave a Reply

