Chocolate for Breakfast

I want to take a minute to apologize to my mother. She would be thoroughly ashamed to know that I ate chocolate for breakfast. In this case, because I’m a responsible adult, I didn’t just eat a handfull of chocolate… I made whole wheat chocolate chip scones. You know, for nutrients and fiber and stuff πŸ˜‰
They were yummy right out of the oven, all warm and melty, but once they cooled the wheat flour gave them a kind of chewy texture. I’m not sure about that…
I adapted the recipe from Skinny Taste and here’s how I did it:

What you need:
1/2 c buttermilk
1/4 c heavy cream
1/4 c sugar
scrape out 1 vanilla bean (or 2 t vanilla extract)
1 egg
1 c whole wheat flour
1 c all purpose flour
1T baking powder
small pinch of salt
3 T chilled butter, cut into small pieces
1/2 c dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375* and spray cookie sheet with cooking spray.Β 

In a medium sized bowl, mix buttermilk, cream, sugar, vanilla and egg in bowl and whisk until combined. In a separate bowl, combine both flours, salt, baking powder and salt. Then cut in butter and mix it around until it looks course and mealy. Mix in chocolate chips. Finally, pour creamy mixture in to flour mixture and fold until moist.Β 

Turn out dough onto a well floured surface and fold until combined. Flatten slightly until it’s in a round disk about 9-inches across. Slice however you like. Bake for 20 minutes.Β 

Hope you enjoy it! I wanted to try some of them with white chocolate for something different, but I’m thinking you could use dried berries, fresh fruit, or even granola folded in.

In the meantime, we’ll be enjoying as much sunshine as the day gives us! After about 5 days of gloomy, constant rain, I’m ready for some Vitamin D.

 

 

I found a DSW coupon in my purse, so you know what that means! πŸ˜‰ What are you doing today?!

22 thoughts on “Chocolate for Breakfast

  1. What’s DSW? The scones look delicious! Chocolate for breakfast is something I love, especially at the end of a long week!

  2. wow those look tasty! it’s looking pretty in tampa. hopefully it’ll be just as nice when i’m back in a few weeks!

    p.s. don’t get in too much trouble at DSW.

  3. Hi Erin! I’m at Costco right now waiting on the husband..you can have some of my vitamin D. I think I’ve reached the toxicity level being here in Texas! This scorching sun hurts! And ooh I heart DSW!! Although I’m realizing now..I haven’t seen a coupon in a long time. I’m starting to get really suspicious of the hubby..hmm must look into this ASAP!! Have fun girl!! If you find a gem do share!

    • Trust me – FL is about to get oppressively hot, but right now we’re in this non-stop wet weather! And btw, I love Costco πŸ˜‰ So many goodies!

      • Yup!! I can spend hours at Costco!! Can’t imagine my life without it haha 😍they have a special right now on some DSLRs! So guess who purchased one? Yup! This girl!! Woot woot!! I’m moving up in this world!

  4. I have chocolate for breakfast almost everyday, albeit in a raw vegan protein smoothie form, but… chocolate is chocolate! I am not picky! My favorite thing for lunch is chocolate with a side of chocolate. Hence why my body is shaped like a chocolate bar. πŸ™‚ Those days are few and far between now. Scones look magical! The thing about fresh scones is that they really are only good fresh from the oven. It’s not you. It’s them. Lol!!

Leave a Reply

