Yogi Drama

Hi friends, long time no see! How’s everyone been?

I’ve been up a lots of this:
This is just a quick update and to ask everyone a little question. But before we get to that…

Don’t forget to go hate on my latest MindBodyGreen article! Haha, but seriously, what’s with all the disdain?! All I’m getting across is that neck safety in headstands is the #1 priority, and these tips will ensure that, but if there’s something I can clarify, please let me know! I’ve been teaching these for years and have never had anyone injure themselves using these queues, nor has anyone NOT been able to get in to one. With the criticism I’m getting over that, you’d think I just told everyone to donkey kick backwards and cross your fingers it all comes together. Sheesh.

I’m actually thinking that the next article I write should be about all the negativity in yoga, and here’s where I need you.Β What do you think? Have you ever run in to this yourself, be it in yoga or any other industry?Β I’d love to hear your thoughts on this! I’ve seen so much arrogance and self-righteousness in this industry, sometimes I just have to roll my eyes and turn away.

P.S. I’m back in the kitchen with lasagna and home-made ice cream this week. Yay πŸ™‚ Pics and recipes coming tonight and tomorrow!

12 thoughts on “Yogi Drama

  1. I’m very new in the whole world of yoga, but I have seen some arrogance and holier-than-thou type attitudes. I must say, it surprises me. I always thought that the whole point of yoga was the exact opposite, to bring peace, relaxation, and one-ness… I read your article, haven’t attempted a headstand yet, but I’m actually debating pulling out my mat later this evening and giving it a try once my kids are out of my hair.

    • You’re exactly right, Kayla! The “point” is anything YOU want it to be, which is the magic of yoga! If you want to go there to work hard, relax, get or just escape your house, you’re entitled to that. Don’t ever let instructors tell or “teach” you otherwise πŸ˜‰ On the subject of headstands, I think you’ll get a lot from this… I did a full instructional video a few months ago here: http://erinmotz.com/2012/03/22/headstand/

  2. Finally someone has the courage to mention the big dead elephant in the room. I agree, it’s so frustrating when negativity gets in the way of something inherently good. Thanks for your article.

    • It’s incredible, isn’t it? Some instructors consider themselves so “elite” that instead of offering sincere instruction, coaching, encouragement, and active participation, all they care to bring to the table is a bad case of “You’re Doing it Wrong” Syndrome.

  3. I’m very new in the whole world of yoga, but I have seen some arrogance and holier-than-thou type attitudes. I must say, it surprises me. I always thought that the whole point of yoga was the exact opposite, to bring peace, relaxation, and one-ness… I read your article, haven’t attempted a headstand yet, but I\’m actually debating pulling out my mat later this evening and giving it a try once my kids are out of my hair.

  4. i’m not quite sure i understand what all the fuss over your article is about. it makes sense and helped me (well, mainly your video but it’s pretty much the same thing) get into a headstand.

    i was always under the assumption that there isn’t really a “right” approach to any move. certainly, i can imagine there are wrong ones….but in my head there are multiple ways to achieve each one? *shrugs

    quick question: I have a hard time getting off the ground and i feel like i do have to do a tiny kick to get into the air (is this a sign that my core is too weak?)

    • btw, i think the whole “i’m better than thou” mentality is just a universal thing no matter what profession you’re in. you’re just always going to get it somewhere.

      but you know? i just brush it off and assume they’re insecure because the truth is, the ones who are genuinely good at what they do (or genuinely intelligent) don’t need to go out of their way to make others feel inferior. (so i’m thinking about grammar nazis. i mean, i know my shit but i’m not going to make someone feel bad by correcting them point blank…unless of course it’s on a student paper in which case it’s necessary)

      • I couldn’t agree more! Plus, you’re a teacher – your correction is kind of what they signed up for πŸ˜‰ In this case, all I was getting across was that these queues are the “ah-ha” light switch ON that so many people need. Whatever, man! Haters gonna hate, ya know? πŸ˜‰ lol

    • Exactly. The short answer to your question would be that yes, that means the core muscles don’t have enough control. BUT! As you said, if you’re kicking or jumping a bit to get up there, it’s not even remotely “incorrect.”

      I always tell my classes that as long as your neck/shoulders/head isn’t in pain, you can keep doing what you’re doing. Heck, if I’m not warmed up, I can’t just walk into a headstand. It takes a lot of flexibility in the hamstrings, hips, and lower back to do that, and a little kick isn’t forbidden. πŸ™‚

  5. Hey Erin, I personally loved the article and the tips! And, don’t pay attention to all the negative feedback, from exprience all I can say is that people WAIT like reallly WAIT to see something and criticize it, and give their “better” opinion, and well just fill somebody’s place ans space with negativity! So yes, please write a post on how sensitive everyone is, and maybe yoga will help them build more strengh and balance to overcome this inside negativity!

  6. Hello my beautiful and flexible lady!! I’ve missed you!!! I really want to see the world from a different view. I want to master inversions. Right now, I’m at the mercy of a wall. I know yoga is all about making it your own practice and doing what’s best for you, but when I see others doing all sorts of craziness, I can’t help but get discouraged. I definitely need to stop kicking like you mentioned! I wish you lived nearby so I can learn from the best!

    • You’re fantastic πŸ™‚ It’s tough not to feel discouraged, but even for “advanced” yogis, it’s all about progress. Always remember where you came from to appreciate where you are. And hey, as long as you’re against a wall, there’s nothing wrong with a little baby kick to give yourself a bit of momentum to push up. If you’re away from a wall you could tip over and hurt the neck, but as long as you have that, you should be good. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

