The Best Thing

Just before I run out the door for a little gym time, here was breakfast! Stovetop banana oats with cinnamon and vanilla extract. Don’t they look extra puffy and fluffy today? Because they were! It was almost like they had marshmallow fluff inside… much to my disappointment, they did not 😉

What you need:
1/4 c rolled oats
1/4 c milk
1/4 c water
1 banana, sliced
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
tiny dash of cinnamon

Combine oats and liquid and cook over medium low heat until it bubbles. Mix vigorously until it thickens. Add extras once it’s off the stovetop.
Dinner was more vegetables with feta and hummus. No fluff over here, but lots of savory awesomeness. These totally hit the spot!
But before I ate that for the 3rd time this week (it’s my new favorite meal!), I snacked on the ripest, sweetest, juiciest nectarine I’ve ever had. No joke! I was aiming for a healthy snack, but ate it so fast I think it was gone in a single inhale. Deee-lish — I have three more I’m tempted to eat today!
What’s the best thing about today? You know, besides the fact that it’s Saturday. 😉

2 thoughts on “The Best Thing

  1. I’m going to try your oats recipe….I haven’t had much luck with oats and overnight oats recipes, and I’m beginning to think I don’t really like oatmeal unless it’s baked? I’m hoping that’s not the case, because I would like to eat oatmeal for breakfast everyday when I start nursing, it’s supposed to help with milk supply (sorry, more info than you ever wanted to know!) 🙂 The best thing about today so far was getting to make a delicious breakfast for my family and testing a homemade English muffin recipe while my husband played with our daughter outside (he’s teaching her to hit a ball with a bat)! It was really cute 🙂 And we might have a date night to look forward to!! Hope you’re having a great weekend 🙂

    • I’m also kind of 50/50 on oatmeal. Sometimes I like it and other times I’m like OMG gag. I like this recipe because they’re creamy without being drippy, not overly sweet (I forgot to write in there that I add like 1/2 t of sugar) and still filling. I hope you like them! Enjoy your weekend – yay family time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

