Republicane 2012

It’s that time of year…
Looks like we’re prepping for a hurricane this week! It’s supposed to be in town by later tonight and stay through tomorrow evening. So we prepped by getting tons of water and some canned soup in case we lose power for any extended period of time – let’s hope that does NOT happen!

A similar catastrophe will be rolling through Tampa Bay later this week, as I’m sure you’ve heard…
Kidding! For the record, I’m completely impartial to either side in politics, but I’ll be teaching yoga at the convention for anyone who needs a bit of a break from all the commotion 🙂 My high school self would feel so betrayed right now! I’m actually really looking forward to it! Seems like an awesome experience and something pretty “big” to be a part of. No complaints here!

Some random recent things:
We ate a really, really great tasting meal at #9 Bangkok in St. Pete the other night. We were pleasantly surprised to find the ultra shady storefront was actually the home to a pretty fantastic menu! We got the veggie spring rolls and chicken/veggie pad thai. Definitely a repeat… especially since two appetizers, two main courses, and two pots of tea only cost us $25! Cant beat that, AMIRIGHT?!
And courtesy of my girl Heidi, we also discovered the Eco-Bean in Tarpon Springs. I live in a land where the only coffee shop open to sit in is a Starbucks. Good but not great. The Eco-Bean has amazingly tasty coffee, a zillion natural options for sweetener (see those bottles?!), and different milk options for the health-conscious coffee drinker: organic whole/skim, rice, almond, and soy milk. My kind of cafe!
We got a regular organic latte with one pump of vanilla, and an almond milk cappuccino with a bit of hazelnut – outta this world. 
I stumbled across The Gentle Barn the other day and seriously fell in love. They rescue animals who were either set to be killed for meat in horrendous, inhumane conditions, or from abusive households, and even animal hoarding situations. They take them in and provide them with medical care, healthy food, fresh air, and plenty of love. I sponsored an animal and liked them on Facebook and you should do the same. 🙂 Every “like,” “share,” and dollar count! I wish I lived in California so I could volunteer – one of the open positions is a “Cow Hugger.” I was like OMG, I think I found my calling!!!
That’s all! We’re sitting in the calm before the storm and I’m feelin’ productive – laundry, I’m looking at you.

5 thoughts on “Republicane 2012

  1. Thinking of you and hoping you stay safe!! What a great deal you got on that Thai dinner, one of my favorite cuisines 🙂 The Gentle Barn sounds amazing, just liked them on Facebook too!

  2. I used to work for The Weather Channel (don’t ask me why the forecast is always wrong!), and this time of the year was very very stressful. Praying for you!
    Omygoodness what an awesome meal! And for $25? So jealous!
    Thank you for mentioning The Gentle Barn! You’re so cute! Your calling = cow hugger 😉
    Def checking out the site now!

  3. You just made me crave a cappuccino, but it’s raining and I’m lazy…guess that’ll have to wait… 😦

  4. 1) Hope you stay safe through the storm!

    2) that coffee place sounds amazing!

    3) wow! The Gentle Barn sounds amazing! going to their facebook page now! 🙂

    HAPPY WEEK TO YOU!
    best,
    gc

Leave a Reply

